Over the years, I’ve developed this passion for nutrition, holistic medicine ect. because of all I’ve been through. I, however, have another passion that I’ve had long before that. I remember back in 5th grade I did my very first research paper about autistic spectrum disorders. I remember I was so fascinated by this research and the teachers were amazed at my work. Since my little sister has an autistic spectrum disorder, I spent a good portion of my childhood tagging along to various therapies and watching them help her grow and develop and be able to play and do the things she loves to do. Because of this,  I was always drawn to therapeutic fields. From a young age I thought it would be so rewarding to help children in this way. When I was getting ready to graduate 8th grade, I was asked for the year book, “what do you want to be when you grow up?” My answer: “I want to work therapeutically with special needs children”.

This passion has not died but has grown throughout my life. I am in school for occupational therapy, and when I’m done I hope to work with children and do for other children what so many wonderful people have done for my sister who is now a beautiful, bright, bubbly high school senior
. Today, I begin pediatric fieldwork. I’m quite nervous, but also very excited. I have waited so long to get this hands on experience with children. I really believe this is one of the things I’ve been put on earth to do, so I hope and pray that I’m given the tools to really help the children with whom I work in a unique and profound way.

Off to study.

Me and my inspiration… my beautiful sis 🙂

xo

Leave a comment